Succession Planning Committee


June 2017: Began work during Phase 3.

February 2018: Implementation continued with meetings to seek broader campus perspectives.

June 2018: Pilot project under way


The Succession Planning Committee will research, propose, and implement strategies that promote career development opportunities and succession planning. 

Targeted task force recommendation 

  • Enhance succession planning: Promote awareness of career opportunities and update both core and leadership competencies needed for employees to advance. Identify goals and resource needs for new succession planning systems. 


Advisory committee 

  • Danielle Allen, manager, UI Health Care Learning and Organizational Development
  • Shannon Bartlett, human resources director, College of Pharmacy 
  • Keith Becker, interim director, Employment Services  
  • Keith Clasen, human resources director, UI Health Care Human Resources
  • Julie Cunningham, human resources generalist, Office of the Provost
  • Kari Gates, HR manager, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences 
  • Trevor Glanz, associate director of compensation, University Human Resources
  • Dee Hurst, director of human resources, Tippie College of Business  
  • Wendy Loney, HR director, Research and Economic Development 
  • Wanda Malden, senior EEO coordinator, Equal Opportunity and Diversity 
  • Carlton Petty, HR coordinator, Organizational Effectiveness
  • Jim Sayre, director, Parking and Transportation
  • Brenda Van Dee, administrative coordinator, Carver College of Medicine

Technical team 

  • Teresa Kulper, director of HR services, University Human Resources
  • TBD 

HR administrative liaisons 

  • Cheryl Reardon, chief HR officer and associate vice president, University Human Resources  
  • Joni Troester, assistant vice president for benefits, health, and productivity, University Human Resources 
  • Kevin Ward, senior director for HR policy and administration, University Human Resources 
Contact Information

Administrative Services

Campus Address
121-10 USB
Mailing Address

121 University Services Building, Suite 10
Iowa City, IA 52242-1911
United States