Contact University Human Resources

Location and Directions

Find University Human Resources offices in the University Services Building (USB), at 1 West Prentiss Street in Iowa City. Our mailing address is:

University Human Resources
University Services Building
1 West Prentiss Street
Iowa City, IA 52240

On Cambus, take the East Campus Shuttle to stop 1070.

Find metered street parking along Prentiss and Capitol streets adjacent to USB, or use the university's Recreation Center Lot (Lot 11).

Use the public entrance to USB on the building's west side, adjacent to the parking lot.

Units and Staff

University Human Resources includes 10 functional areas managed by Administrative Services:

Unit rosters

Administrative Services

Phone: 319-335-3558
Email:  UnivHR-Admin@uiowa.edu
Office: 121-10 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Cheryl Reardon Chief HR Officer and Associate Vice President cheryl-reardon@uiowa.edu 319-467-0745
Jan Waterhouse Senior HR Director, HR Policy, Communication, & Compliance jan-waterhouse@uiowa.edu 319-335-5767
Karen Shemanski Director, Administrative Services karen-shemanski@uiowa.edu 319-335-5091
Connie Smith Administrative Services Coordinator connie-m-smith@uiowa.edu 319-335-0056
Carrie Boles Leadership Fellow carrie-boles@uiowa.edu 319-467-0309
Lin Larson Strategic Communications lin-larson@uiowa.edu 319-325-1589

 

University Benefits

Phone:  319-335-2676 | 877-830-4001
Email:   benefits@uiowa.edu
Office:  120 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Joni Troester Assistant Vice President, Total Rewards joni-troester@uiowa.edu 319-335-2692
Rebecca Olson Director, Benefits rebecca-s-olson@uiowa.edu 319-384-1408
Dana Stafford Assistant Director, Benefits dana-stafford@uiowa.edu 319-335-5711
Cheri Smith Secretary IV cheri-smith@uiowa.edu 319-335-5586
Robin Akers HR Specialist robin-akers@uiowa.edu 319-335-5553
Joshua Anderson Manager of Accounting, Benefits joshua-anderson-1@uiowa.edu 319-335-5522
Emily Bacatan Clerk IV emily-bacatan@uiowa.edu 319-335-2676
Jessica Wade Business Anaylst jessica-j-wade@uiowa.edu 319-467-1349
Scott Coons Clerk IV scott-coons@uiowa.edu 319-335-2676
Timothy Dowiat Clerk IV timothy-dowiat@uiowa.edu 319-335-2676
Amy Edeker Senior HR Specialist, Worker's Compensation amy-edeker@uiowa.edu 319-353-2375
Sonatina Fernandes Senior Hr Specialist sonatina-fernandes@uiowa.edu 319-335-2623
Brian Hulke Senior Accountant brian-hulke@uiowa.edu 319-384-2048
Bethany Kaplan Senior HR Specialist, Workers Compensation bethany-kaplan@uiowa.edu 319-335-2679
Julie Kasparek Clerk IV julie-kasparek@uiowa.edu 319-335-2676
Marcus Seaton Program Manager, Worker's Compensation & UI Ergonomics marcus-seaton@uiowa.edu 319-384-0959
Dennis Ungs Clerk III dennis-ungs@uiowa.edu 319-335-2676
Stephanie Von Lienen Clerk IV stephanie-vonlienen@uiowa.edu 319-335-2676
Kara Wright Business Analyst kara-wright@uiowa.edu 319-384-3511

Compensation and Classification

Phone:  319-335-5298
Email:   comp-class@uiowa.edu
Office:  121-11 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Trevor Glanz Director, Compensation/Classification & Data Management trevor-glanz@uiowa.edu 319-335-1848
Consuelo Garcia Senior HR Specialist consuelo-garcia@uiowa.edu 319-335-0055
Jiongting Hu Senior Compensation Specialist jiongting-hu@uiowa.edu 319-467-0519
Amanda Johnston Compensation Specialist amanda-johnston-1@uiowa.edu 319-467-0374

Employee and Labor Relations

Phone:  319-335-3558
Email:   elr-help@uiowa.edu
Office:  121-20 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Vacant Director, University Employee & Labor Relations    
Michelle Kongable Senior Employee & Labor Relations Specialist michelle-kongable@uiowa.edu 319-353-2498
Mike Worthington Administrative Services Coordinator michael-worthington@uiowa.edu 319-467-0745

Employee Assistance Program

Phone:  319-335-2085
Email:   eaphelp@uiowa.edu
Office:  121-50 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Maggie Moore Director, Employee Assistance Program betty-moore@uiowa.edu 319-335-2085
Carman Walsh Secretary III carman-walsh@uiowa.edu 319-335-2085
Bronwyn Threlkeld-Wiegand Behavioral Health Clinical Specialist bronwyn-threlkeldwiegand@uiowa.edu 319-335-2085

Faculty and Staff Disability Services

Phone:  319-335-2660
Email:   fsds@uiowa.edu
Office:  121-20 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Nathan Stucky Director, UI Faculty & Staff Disability Services nathan-stucky@uiowa.edu 319-335-2663
Damien Blair Clerk IV damien-blair@uiowa.edu 319-335-2660
Kate Banta Senior HR Specialist kate-banta@uiowa.edu 319-335-1624
Rhea Dreyer HR Specialist rhea-dreyer@uiowa.edu 319-384-3217
Adrian Rocha HR Specialist adrian-rocha@uiowa.edu 319-467-0350
Melissa Fiacco HR Specialist melissa-fiacco@uiowa.edu 319-467-1139

Faculty and Staff Immigration Services

Phone:  319-467-0498
Email:  immigration@uiowa.edu  
Office: 121-20 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Randall Ney Director, Faculty & Staff Immigration Services randall-ney@uiowa.edu 319-335-2263
Laura Prince Administrator, Faculty & Staff Immigration Services laura-prince@uiowa.edu 319-335-5316
Lisa Bartell Administration Services Coordinator lisa-bartell@uiowa.edu 319-467-0498
Lisa Lowenberg Secretary III lisa-jo-lowenberg@uiowa.edu 319-335-0635
Nina Thompson HR Specialist nina-thompson@uiowa.edu 319-335-1167

Family Services

Phone:  319-335-3558
Email:   familyservices@uiowa.edu
Office: 121-50 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Diana Kremzar Manager, UI Family Services diana-kremzar@uiowa.edu 319-467-0193

Information Management

Office:  3rd floor, USB

Name Title Email Phone
Angela Bell Director Information Management/Projects & Services, HR angela-bell@uiowa.edu 319-384-2080
Mike Kaplan Director Admin Systems/Information Management/HR michael-kaplan@uiowa.edu 319-335-0166

liveWELL

Phone:  319-353-2973  
Email:  livewell@uiowa.edu
Office: E119 CRWC

Name Title Email Phone
Megan Hammes Director, UI Wellness megan-hammes@uiowa.edu 319-335-5424
Liz Butler-Heffner Secretary II elizabeth-heffner@uiowa.edu 319-353-2973
Jean O'Donovan Secretary III jean-odonovan@uiowa.edu 319-353-2973
Ilona Lichty Health Coach/Wellness Consultant, UI Wellness ilona-lichty@uiowa.edu 319-467-0192
Erin Litton Health Coach/Wellness Consultant, UI Wellness erin-litton@uiowa.edu 319-353-2974

Organizational Effectiveness

Phone:  319-335-3558
Email:  uilearndevelop@uiowa.edu
Office: 121-50 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Teresa Kulper Director, UI Org Effectiveness/Org Development, HR teresa-kulper@uiowa.edu 319-384-0786
Sean Hesler Director, UI Learning & Development sean-hesler@uiowa.edu 319-384-0858
Eli Hotchkin Threat Assessment Program Director elisha-hotchkin@uiowa.edu 319-384-2955
Nikole Mac Director, UI Leadership Development nikole-mac@uiowa.edu 319-384-0535
Barb Simon Secretary III barbara-simon@uiowa.edu 319-335-5464
Dorian Walker Clerk IV dorian-walker@uiowa.edu 319-335-2687
Laura Macrowski Clerk IV laura-macrowski@uiowa.edu 319-335-2901
Bruce Drummond Instructional Services Specialist bruce-drummond@uiowa.edu 319-335-5186
Claudio Hidalgo Language & Culture Specialist claudio-hidalgo@uiowa.edu 319-335-5163
Candace Peters Organizational Consultant & Leadership Coach candace-peters@uiowa.edu 319-335-0505
Carlton Petty HR Specialist carlton-petty@uiowa.edu 319-335-0729
Blair Wagner Organizational Change Manager blair-wagner@uiowa.edu 319-467-0560
Heidi Zahner-Younts Organizational Consultant & Leadership Coach heidi-zahner@uiowa.edu 319-335-2260

Payroll Services

Phone:  319-335-2381
Email:   payroll-services@uiowa.edu
Office:  120 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Terri Hein Director terri-hein@uiowa.edu 319-335-2374
Rachel Quinlan Manager, Accounting & Financial Analysis rachel-quinlan@uiowa.edu 319-353-2097
De Benoit Clerk IV diane-benoit@uiowa.edu 319-335-3426
Stacey Halverson Senior Accountant stacey-halverson@uiowa.edu 319-335-2170
June Lester Senior Accountant june-lester@uiowa.edu 319-335-2383
Roxanne Schomers Clerk III roxanne-schomers@uiowa.edu 319-335-2803
Marianne Stratton Clerk IV marianne-stratton@uiowa.edu 319-335-2420
Xuefen Zhen International Tax  Specialist xuefen-zhen@uiowa.edu 319-353-2460

Talent Acquisition

Phone:  319-335-2656 | 800-272-6400
Email:   TA-support@uiowa.edu
Office:  102-21 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Keith Becker Director, Talent Acquisition keith-becker@uiowa.edu 319-335-2664
Leslie Ungs Clerk IV leslie-ungs@uiowa.edu 319-335-2658
Whitney Bell Senior HR Specialist whitney-bell@uiowa.edu 319-467-0172
Talinda Pettigrew Senior HR Specialist talinda-pettigrew@uiowa.edu 319-467-0240
Adam Potter Senior HR Specialist adam-potter@uiowa.edu 319-335-2662
Ellie Sharp HR Specialist elizabeth-sharp@uiowa.edu 319-335-2659

Workforce Operations

Phone:  319-335-2381
Email:   workforce-operations@uiowa.edu
Office:  120 USB

Name Title Email Phone
Dan Schropp Director daniel-schropp@uiowa.edu 319-335-2382
Kate Hilsman Senior HR Specialist kate-hilsman@uiowa.edu 319-335-3829
Katie Villhauer Senior HR Specialist katie-villhauer@uiowa.edu 319-335-2380
De Benoit Clerk IV diane-benoit@uiowa.edu 319-335-3426
Denise Fuller Clerk IV denise-fuller@uiowa.edu 319-335-2387
Carla Krantz HR Specialist carla-krantz@uiowa.edu 319-335-5337
Hellecktra Orozco HR Specialist hellecktra-orozco@uiowa.edu  319-467-1735
Penny Schnedler HR Specialist penny-schnedler@uiowa.edu 319-384-3499
Rus Schomers Clerk IV russell-schomers@uiowa.edu 319-335-2378