Future of Work@Iowa

Future of Work@Iowa Subcommittees

Five subcommittees have been formed that will apply lessons from the COVID-19 pandemic to reimagine the employee experience at the University of Iowa and address emerging talent needs and trends. The recommendations of the subcommittees will help inform the final committee recommendations in Summer 2021. 

Faculty & Instructors 

Chair: Lois Geist, Associate Provost for Faculty & Professor, Internal Medicine

Kristin Bauer Associate Board Counsel & Director of Human Resources / Merit Systems, Board of Regents, State of Iowa

Ann Byrd Deputy Counsel, Office of General Counsel

Jamarco Clark Director, Leadership & Engagement, Dean of Students Office, Division of Student Life

Nate Fethke Associate Professor, Occupational & Environmental Health, College of Public Health

Diane Rohlman Professor, Occupational & Environmental Health, College of Public Health

Sara Sanders Dean & Professor, Social Work, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Liz Tovar Interim Associate Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Tanya Uden-Holman Associate Provost & Professor, Public Health


Co-Chair: Joni Troester, Assistant Vice President & Deputy Chief HR Officer, University Human Resources

Co-Chair: Jennifer Lassner, Associate Vice President, Research Administration, Office of the Vice President for Research

Ann Byrd Deputy Counsel, Office of General Counsel

Kristin Gilchrist Departmental Administrator, Physiology, UI Health Care

Rachael Kowbel Director, Dental Student Admissions, College of Dentistry

Rachel Napoli Administrative Services Administrator, Office of the Chief Information Officer, Information Technology Services

Talinda Pettigrew Senior HR Director, Division of Student Life and Student Health & Wellness

Keith Saunders Governmental Relations, External Relations

Lynne Sebille-White Senior Director, Career Advancement, Pomerantz Career Center, Office of the Provost

Jan Waterhouse Senior Director, Human Resources Policy and Compliance, University Human Resources

Health Care

Chair: Gary Milavetz, Executive Associate Dean & Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, Division of Applied Clinical Sciences, College of Pharmacy

Karen Butler Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice President for Medical Affairs

Rob Piper Associate Dean for Research and Professor, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Carver College of Medicine

Galen Schneider Executive Associate Dean & Professor, Department of Prosthodontics, College of Dentistry

Ellen Twinam Senior HR Director, Psychiatric Hospital/CDD, UI Health Care

Physical Space

Chair: Joe Bilotta, Director, Campus Planning, Facilities Management

Scott Arneson Associate Dean for Finance & Facilities, College of Dentistry

Paul Esker Graduate Student Government Representative

Renee Houser Director, Classroom Management & Operations, Office of the Provost

Susan Klatt Assistant Vice President & University Secretary, Finance & Operations

Jason Miller Director, Facilities Planning & Management, Carver College of Medicine 

Kevin Zihlman Vice President / President Elect, UI Staff Council & Assistant Director, Intercollegiate Athletics

Debby Zumbach Associate Vice President & Director, Purchasing and Business Services, Finance & Operations


Co-Chair: Steve Fleagle, Chief Information Officer & Associate Vice President, Information Technology Services

Co-Chair: Tracy Scott, Senior IT Director, Service Management and Support, Enterprise Services, Information Technology Services

Adam Burghduff Undergraduate Student Government Representative

Jay Currie Clinical Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Science, College of Pharmacy

Mike Kaplan Director, HR Systems & Analytics, Admin Information Systems, Information Technology Services

Gautam Pant Associate Professor, Business Analytics, Tippie College of Business

Ana Rodriguez-Rodriguez Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Faculty Senate Representative

Paul Soderdahl Associate University Librarian, University of Iowa Libraries